Suggestions for website and forums

Comments, questions, suggestions, criticism... anything at all about the website. This is also the place for member introductions

Moderator: Styles Bitchley

Kwai Bridge
Captain

Suggestions for website and forums

#1 Post by Kwai Bridge »

Hey everyone.

As some of you may or may not remember, graphic and web design are two of the things I graduated. As a major fan of Magnum P.I. and as a guy who has immense respect for JJ and the website he created, which is undeniably the authority for all things Magnum P.I., I'd like to list a few suggestions to make it slighty more sleeker and informative (even though it already excels in the latter), all the while maintaining the original look because that's what makes it feel authentic and old school.

Without further ado, here's my (very short) list:
  • Make the forum banner transparent instead of white to make it consistent with the header (and it simply looks more professional), like this (excuse my shitty edit which cut off the rotor blades, it still serves its purpose though), or maybe a high-res redesign in the same manner: Image
  • Make that very forum banner lead to Forum Index instead of the actual magnum-mania website - the actual "Forum Index" link is way too small (especially if browsing on phone). Also it feels more intuitive; I can't count the numbers I made the mistake of clicking the banner and had to hit the back button to return to the forums since I got redirected to the website;
  • In the same manner, make the magnum-mania website banner always link to magnum-mania homepage. E.g: I'm browsing the "Higgins History" section, then move on to "Top 40 Episodes", and I want to return to the index. So now, instead of just clicking the banner to bring me back home, I have to hit back twice (or however many times I've clicked on a non-parent link);