Dream come true

For all non-episode specific topics about the show, including MPI-related "tie-ins"

Moderator: Styles Bitchley

Mr. Keoki
Rear Admiral

Dream come true

#1 Post by Mr. Keoki »

Finally made the trek to Waimanalo. The house is gone, but I can't express how incredible it was. I couldn't believe I was there...

Mr. Keoki

"He was Hawaiian. I'm not very good with these names, It ended with an oki or lani"

Laohu
Fleet Admiral

Re: Dream come true

#2 Post by Laohu »

Mr. Keoki wrote:Finally made the trek to Waimanalo. The house is gone, but I can't express how incredible it was. I couldn't believe I was there...

er.

Congratulations, on making one of your dreams come true ! Great pictures I am sure the experience is something you will always remember.

Kevster
Fleet Admiral

#3 Post by Kevster »

Awesome!!!! Thanks for sharing!

There has been several mentions of sea level rise and the estate, but it doesn't appear to be the issue when looking at your photos. It looks like things are about the same. The ancient square concrete drainage feature in the tidal pool looks to display about the same water level to me. I think that the sand levels behind the estate are not maintained well, so the beach is very limited. They need to do some reclamation and pump sand up...

If I were in charge of filming, I'd be sure to film there at low tide, which is likely what they did back in the 80's.

Love seeing it, until I note the main house is gone....
Trust Me!!!

Mr. Keoki
Rear Admiral

#4 Post by Mr. Keoki »

The water did come up pretty high, but yeah I would agree that there hadn't been much "beach maintenance" there for a long time. What makes that notable was the lower beach wall (where magnum was sitting binge drinking after Sharon Stone's suicide) was about chest high on me. I'm 6' 2". So there has definitely been significant sand erosion, rather than higher than normal water levels.